Anglican Theologian Says Jesus was Homosexual

Writes Fr Dwight Longenecker:

I’m not going to even bother linking to Paul Oestreicher’s column in London’s left wing paper The Guardian. It’s the usual progressive gibberish–full of sentimental arguments, ignorant speculation and politically correct mumbo jumbo all designed to shock, annoy, ingratiate himself with the enemies of the gospel and gain some juicy headline coverage.

To tell you the truth, I’m weary of the whole “inyerface” homosexual activism. I think my only response from now on will be to remind people of the sins that cry to heaven:

CCC 1867: The catechetical tradition also recalls that there are “sins that cry to heaven”: the blood of Abel, the sin of the Sodomites, the cry of the people oppressed in Egypt, the cry of the foreigner, the widow, and the orphan, injustice to the wage earner.

 

About Fr Stephen Smuts
TAC Priest in South Africa.

14 Responses to Anglican Theologian Says Jesus was Homosexual

  1. Not ALL so-called “Anglican Theologians” are liberals today, just most of them, perhaps. ;)

    • Mark Penrith says:

      My dad used to say that the Anglican community is bound by three cords; the Anglo Catholics, the Charismatics; and the Evangelicals. Are the liberals a new cord; a morph of an old cords; or a complete paradigm shift in the communion?

      • @Mark: I would consider myself something of an Anglican Evangelical (with a few High Church places), and I was a teaching “theolog” myself in the late 90′s. Today, sadly I would see the majority of Anglican theolog’s as in this liberal “paradigm” shift.

      • Mark Penrith says:

        I was brought up as an Evangelical Anglican. My father is a pastor of a church in Port Elizabeth.

        Although I’m no longer an Anglican I read Stott and Ryle and ilk (oh and the Anglican’s on GospelCoalition.org still wave the banner high).

      • Note Mark, I am over 6o!

      • Mark: I am sure that there are actually still Anglican evangelical rectors out there, but the so-called Anglican theolog’s, sadly reflect the “paradigm” shift at the so-called academy level. Even NT Wright is hardly a classic Anglican, note he likes to call himself an “Open Evangelical” somewhat, always really a British thing. (Whatever that means?)

      • Mark Penrith says:

        :). Look we’re from Africa, and I think by and large the South African church is somewhat more stayed than their American or European cousins; that said one can see that the same Evan-jelly-cal shift is happening here too.

  2. Mark: So your a Reformed Baptist, eh? I am a Reformed Anglican as you can see, but friendly with the American FV (Federal Vision) somewhat. But, note I am a Historic Pre-Mill, post-trib (and yes, I am a “Biblical Zionist” and pro-Israel)…there’s few Anglican presbyters there these days! ;)

  3. Sandra says:

    There’s nothing new about this. I remember the idea floating around at least as early as the 1980s. Yawn.

    • So-called Anglicans have been speaking blasphemy for sometime, but calling our Lord Jesus a homosexual should surely anger any Christian! No yawn from me, but Lord call down fire from heaven! As said the two sons of thunder! ;) Well, at least the “fire” of truth! Jesus Is Lord!

      • Sandra says:

        Congratulations for still having the energy to get angry at this nonsense.

      • I’m often just an old Biblicist…”And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather reprove them.” (Eph. 5:11) This is I know not something Anglicans seem to want to do, but I am Irish! ;)

      • Margaret says:

        Thank you Fr. Robert: “Zeal for Your House consumes me”!! We will ONE day be held accountable…and to those of whom “much has been given, much will be expected”! “Sins against the Holy Spirit are the only UNforgivable sins”–so yes, we MUST speak the TRUTH–in season and out of season–from every roof top and never grow weary (no yawning or sleeping while Jesus sweats Blood in HIS Agony). We have only one Life to ‘Live for Christ’ and we must Live and Profess it to the fullest–IN WITH and THROUGH THE HOLY SPIRIT!!

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 824 other followers