Japan Nuclear Plant: Just How Bad Is It?

The nuclear crisis at Japan’s Fukushima plant is already considered the second worst nuclear accident in history, behind Chernobyl.

The Telegraph(UK) reports:

French experts now rate it as a six on the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)’s seven-point scale, despite the Japanese insisting it remains a four.

The International Nuclear Events scale (INES) was introduced in 1990 by the IAEA to aid public understanding on the significance of such events.

The scale is designed so incidents classified at one level are 10 times more severe than those at the level below. Here is our guide:

Level seven
A major accident which releases radioactive material with widespread health and environmental effects. The 1986 Chernobyl disaster in Ukraine is the only level seven incident to have taken place.

Level six
A serious accident with the likely release of significant amounts of radioactive material.

Level five
An accident with wider consequences, and several expected deaths.

Level four
An accident with local consequences and at least one death.

Level three
A serious incident in which exposure exceeds ten times the statutory annual limit for workers.

Level two
An incident in which a member of the public or a worker is exposed to a certain level and level one is an anomaly involving minor problems with safety components.

Just keep praying…


Post a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s