Fr Corapi and Bishop Mulvey of Corpus Christi

Gentle Bishop Mulvey of Corpus Christ:

Like many of you, I was surprised and confused by Fr. Corapi’s recent announcement. And I have nothing more to add on Corapi’s score beyond what the popular Catholic bloggers have already laid out.

But one aspect that I know a bit more about and that troubles me is his comments about the bishop of Corpus Christi, Michael Mulvey. Firstly, even though Bishop Mulvey was only recently appointed to Corpus, I assume that Corapi is speaking of him and not the former bishop when he made his comments.

I met Bishop Mulvey (when he was Father, and then Monsignor) during my ten years in Austin. I heard Mass from him many times and talked with him as well. He always struck me as a priest with a very gentle spirit. Not all priests have that gift, but he did. I understood that he was involved in the ecclesial movement Focolare, which seemed to fit his personality well.

Eventually, after Bishop Aymond was transferred to Louisiana, Msgr. Mulvey became the administrator for the diocese until Bishop Vasquez was chosen. Mulvey was then himself moved and raised to the epicopate. I think he’s only been bishop in Corpus for six months or so.

Thus, it pains my heart to hear Corapi’s critical words toward him. Corapi didn’t think he could receive a fair trial, but everything I know about Bishop Mulvey says otherwise. Pope Benedict has appointed so many good bishops, including Mulvey, that I can’t help but think that even if Corapi didn’t get a fair hearing at one level, he could have appealed and surely received justice at a higher level.

So, it seems to be one great misunderstanding–no doubt instigated by the Devil, but also one that God would have made beautiful–had only Corapi trusted the Church and humbled himself, even in the face of what very well could be false and unjust accusations.

Like you, my wife and I are praying for Corapi, Mulvey, and all involved, including the Society of our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity–the SOLTs–Corapi’s (former?) order.

God bless them all and may Christ heal these terrible wounds.

The Fr Corapi fallout continues…

HTNew Advent

Vatican Sets Up Abuse Help Centre

The BBC reports:

 

The Vatican is to set up a new e-learning centre to help safeguard children and victims of sexual abuse by clergy, as part of its efforts to deal with damaging scandals.

The Roman Catholic Church is preparing for a major conference on abuse to take place next February in Rome.

The Vatican has told bishops to come up with guidelines to combat abuse, in line with local laws.

The Catholic Church has been rocked by scandals of sexual abuse by priests.

The centre will offer guidance to those who have to respond to abuse cases, as well as providing information for victims. Its advice will be available in German, English, French, Spanish and Italian.

“The e-learning centre will work with medical institutions and universities to develop a constant response to the problems of sexual abuse,” said Monsignor Klaus Peter Franzl of the archdiocese of Munich, according to the Reuters news agency.

Officials said private donors had pledged funds to maintain the database for an initial three years, the Associated Press reported…

More here.

Fr Z on Fr Corapi

Fr John Zuhlsdorf  (who was Ordained with Fr Corapi) writes:

I haven’t written much about Fr. John Corapi, because I honestly don’t know much about what is going on.  I don’t know the details.   But I am sad to read that he is leaving active ministry.  I am profoundly sad.

Fr. Corapi and I were ordained together, by John Paul II, in 1991.  I didn’t know him at that time.  After ordination I think I only ran into him twice, at conferences were we were both speakers.  So, I don’t know him.  I don’t know what is up with his life or situation and I won’t speculate.  Nevertheless, by that tendril connection of our ordination, I have imagined a kind of bond with him and all the other men scattered across the world, even though I didn’t know most of them personally.

So, I don’t have much to say about Fr. Corapi.  I do have a few things to say about the circumstances surrounding this sad announcement…

See what he has to say here.

For the whole Fr Mr Corapi (or The Black Sheep Dog) matter, click here.

Churches of Holy Land Protest New Taxes in Israel

Heads of Christian churches expressed their deep concern on new changes aimed at taxation of churches’ real estate, writes Nouvelles d`Arménie.

Although former changes failed to be implemented, the Israel did not hide its intention of taxation on various churches’ real estate. The empty churches are also subjected to taxation.

The statement by an unofficial “Church heads of Holy Land of Jerusalem” group of Christian churches, officially recognized by Israel warned of serious consequences in case Israel implements the project.

Among heads of churches in Jerusalem are Armenian Patriarch, Greek Orthodox Patriarch, Latin Patriarch and other churches.

The above was reported on here.

Man Shoots Off Finger to Remove Wart

A British man has shot his own finger off to get rid of a painful wart that had been plaguing him for over five years.

Sean Murphy tore off most of his middle finger after downing several pints and aiming a shotgun at it.

But his shotgun surgery landed him in court where, he received a 16-week sentence suspended for 18 months for possessing an illegal firearm.

Doncaster Magistrates’ Court was told how Murphy had been to see his GP and tried several creams – but nothing could get rid of the wart.

Fearing he would be stuck with it forever, Murphy, who was living in a caravan, picked up the 12-bore Beretta and blasted his finger.

Wednesday, he declared he was “happy” as he was handed a 16-week suspended prison sentence.

“I know I could have gone to jail for up to 15 years for a firearms offence,” the Sun quoted him as saying.

“My solicitor did a very good job. The best thing is that the wart has gone. It was giving me lot of trouble,” he added.

The above was here.

How bizarre…

Fr John Corapi Leaves the Priesthood To Be ‘The Black Sheepdog’

Writes John Corapi:

… God bless you, God love you, and goodbye.

John Corapi (once called “father,” now “The Black Sheep Dog”).

The full text of his sad announcement is here.

Or the creepy video:

On this his new movement, The Black Sheep Dog:

On June 17, 2011, Corapi released an audio announcement on his Facebook page, YouTube channel, and his company, Santa Cruz Media’s, website proclaiming his new movement towards “The Black SheepDog.”  Combining the personified characteristics of “a black sheep,” and the “sheep” and role of a “sheepdog,” Corapi claims his newfound mission is the same, delivering messages of ‘hope’ and ‘truth,’ but now to a wider-audience.  He launched a blog-site: http://www.TheBlackSheepDog.us to allow his fans to begin establishing a ‘home’ where they can be in touch with him, directly.  A member from his media team shared “this is a very exciting move for John and his fans, as for the first time, in a long time, John will be directly in touch with this fan-base by way of social networks.

Some blog posts commenting on the above:

A lot more to follow I suspect..

UPDATE I:  Fr Corapi has just released another statement: The Black Sheep Dog is Unleashed!

UPDATE II:  Fr Corapi to Post Audio Clips of ‘Alcoholic and Troubled’ Accuser here.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 824 other followers