A Beautiful Prayer

My Lord, I know not what I ought to ask of Thee. Thou and Thou alone knowest my needs. Thou lovest me more than I am able to love Thee. O Father, grant unto me, Thy servant, all which I cannot ask. For a cross I dare not ask, nor for consolation; I dare only to stand in Thy presence. My heart is open to Thee. Thou seest my needs of which I myself am unaware. Behold and lift me up! In Thy presence I stand, awed and silenced by Thy will and Thy judgments, into which my mind cannot penetrate. To Thee I offer myself as a sacrifice. No other desire is mine but to fulfill Thy will. Teach me how to pray. Do Thyself pray within me. Amen.

– Prayer of St. Philaret, Metropolitan of Moscow

Source

5 thoughts on “A Beautiful Prayer

  1. Sweet, and even rather theologically correct! Btw, one hears so little about Christ Jesus our Mediator these days! Which is literally: “To make known what is the wealth of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles (that’s us), which is ‘Christ in you, the hope of glory (glorification)’. Whom we announce, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom that we may present every man mature In Christ.” (Col. 1:27-28, St. Paul) To be “In Christ” surely always includes “Christ Jesus” Himself, as the Mediator: prophet, priest & king, for everyone ‘In Christ’! HE is the eternal-glory, Itself!

    • Btw, for those who might care, John Calvin’s work the Offices of Christ’s doctrine of prophet, priest & king, and thus Mediator; might be one of the best and most profound theological areas that Calvin has provided in his writings! (See the Institutes here) And this is perhaps Calvin’s most ecumenical effort in theology! And even John Henry Newman wrote here: ‘It is to be observed, moreover, that in these offices He also represents to us the Holy Trinity (mediator): for in His proper character He is a priest, and to His Kingdom He has it from the Father, and as to His prophetical offiice, He exercises it by the Spirit. The Father is the king, the Son the Priest, and the Holy the Prophet.” (Newman, The Three Offices of Christ). But it would be perhaps better to say, that the three offices were not intended for such speculative use but rather was meant only to express in a more theological and coherent fashion the unitary work of Christ as the Redeemer. Thus HE is always (as Incarnate) at every moment: prophet, priest & king! And btw, the Peter’s confession of “The Christ of God,” knew that who Jesus is finds its answer in what Jesus does, i.e. the Person and Work of Christ go together! And as Melanchthon said: “To know Christ is to know His benefits.”!

      • Btw, I agree with Calvin in the “theological” weakness here of Roman Catholic theology, as concerns the Threefold Ministry of Christ, but as with Newman, it is a theological weakness. But, when you loose the theological High Ground of Christ as “Mediator”, as does Rome.. you loose truth on this subject. But as I have said Catholicism does believe in the Deity and Divinity of Christ. So this is not an anti-Roman attack, but a theological disagreement. 🙂

        *I am somewhat surprised here (this blog) that there is not more Catholic theological-biblical apologetics, even with the Catholic layman. I know or hear a few on other Catholic blogs! 🙂 But then I am quite the lone Protestant Evangelical Anglican here! 😉

  2. This “Beautiful Prayer” truly reflects the Beatitude–“Blessed are the Poor in Spirit…”!
    To Pray this – with the Heart – is to truly ’empty oneself’; that is to say, to ‘allow oneself to be emptied’ – so that…’the grain of wheat may fall to the ground’, then – ‘in dying, bear much Fruit’; so as not to simply ‘remain a grain of wheat’! For Jesus has said: “If you save your Life – in this world – you will lose it, but if you lose your Life in this world – for MY Sake – you shall Find it”!

Post a Comment

