The Gospel of Tony Soprano

Fr Edward L. Beck writes:

The only time I met James Gandolfini, we talked about God.

It was a chance meeting at the Broadway play “God of Carnage,” in which he was acting. I went backstage to see someone else but was introduced to James.

When he heard that I was a priest he laughed and said, “Gee, Father, I hope you didn’t think this was a play about God.”

“No, I didn’t,” I said, “but I was surprised to find out that it actually was.”

He looked perplexed by my answer, hesitated for a moment, and then said, “Well, we’ll have to talk about that sometime.”

Of course, we never did. It was the first and last time I saw him.

I had, however, seen him many times on television in one of my favorite shows, “The Sopranos.”

Perhaps it’s unwise for a Catholic priest to admit being a “Sopranos” fan, but I confess to having used it more than once as fodder for a Sunday homily. I happen to think it was one of the most spiritual shows on television. Had I told James that, he might have been as surprised as he was by my “God of Carnage” quip…

Read on at CNN.

 

One thought on “The Gospel of Tony Soprano

  1. i loved the sopranos. OK, the language was ‘choice,’ and the themes most certainly adult, but the writing and acting was excellent – in regards to the latter, there was none better than mr gandolfini himself. may he rest in peace.

Post a Comment

