Comment 10,000

We’ve just hit 10 000 comments on the blog… and counting!

And guess who it belongs to? Fr Robert Darby!

 

Fr Robert went on a commenting hiatus, but I’m glad to see he’s back. He has been following this blog faithfully since the start and even though we sometimes disagree on theological points, he remains a learned theologian who frequently challenges others who comment, readers and the blogger, contextually.

Thanks Mate!

May our Irish-Anglican friend, and everyone else who takes the time to pop in, visit and comment, be blessed!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Comment 10,000

  1. Hey, great Fr. Stephen, I count it the Lord’s blessing to be your 10,000 comment! Indeed we are friends and “Brethren” ‘In Christ’!

    Yes, now that’s a pic of the ‘in the 60’s’ Fr. Robert! (64 in just three more months…late Oct., Lord willing?)

    I was really not on a blogging hiatus, just deeply busy some on another blog, my own (July was my busiest month ever!) I put up a blog about Karl Barth and Ms. Von Kirschbaum, and boy howdy did the sparks fly! But I closed it.

    Best of blessings dear Fr. Stephen, for you and all who really read here! Keep the blogs coming! 🙂

  2. God’s word warns us, ” Beware of people who wink at you, for inwardly they plot your destruction. ”

    Despite the self styled Father ( which most evangelicals abominate ), Fr Robert is a thorough going Protestant , who would regard most of what you belive as sacred as heresy! ie baptismal regeneration,Mass, transubstantiation, prayers for the dead and to the saints etc.

    • Thanks be to God I am (I hope?) not like most “evangelicals” (at least today), though I am of course quite nothing “in myself”! But by God’s grace I am an Anglican historic presbyter, and see myself as one “called alone by God”! I will, as Paul wrote, (1 Cor. 4: 3-4)…”I judge not my own self. For I know nothing by myself; yet am I not hereby justified: but HE that judges me is the Lord.” Note too, Paul’s own statement, “But by the grace of God I am what I am” (1 Cor. 15: 10)

      It is no secret, that doctrinally I am basically a Protestant, but thankfully again, an Anglican one, which historically and in the Anglican classic sense, always includes being “catholic”… The church of the via media! At least according to the Thirty-nine Anglican Articles.

      Btw, see my own blog, for I have written on what it means to be called “father” in the biblical and evangelical Anglican sense, (1 Cor. 4: 15). “One who, as a preacher of the Gospel and a teacher, stands in a father’s place, caring for his spiritual children.” (Lexicon) This will always be pastoral! And this is by God’s grace In Christ, always my goal!

      Btw too, thanks really for the very close almost ad hom, as it gives me the chance to speak something of what I believe to be the truth, not really of myself, but back into God’s Word! And God’s people must judge, but I hope with/by God’s Spirit!

      Awe, the great Mystical Body of Christ! IT is HIS! And is both visible (to degree) and invisible! (Eph. 2: 18-22)

Post a Comment

