The Didache Bible

As any one who knows me will attest, I love Bibles (esp. Study Bibles) and have kind of got into collecting holy writ, be it Catholic, Protestant or Orthodox (btw. Protestants by far have produced the most Bible versions, however Catholics are slowly catching up). These are just two pics I quickly took to prove the point:

20140722_161715 20140722_161849
So this in via one of my favourite blogs, Timothy’s Catholic Bible’s Blog (where you can get all the latest updates and reviews on Bibles).

Available October 2014.

The Didache Bible presents extensive commentaries on all books of the Holy Bible based on the Catechism of the Catholic Church. It includes the complete text of Sacred Scriptures, Old and New Testaments, using the Revised Standard Version, Second Catholic Edition. This Bible version is considered by many Catholic leaders and authors, including Peter Kreeft and Scott Hahn, as the most beautiful English translation of the Bible today.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

    • Twenty-seven full-color biblical maps, including the journeys of Jesus Christ.
    • Common questions about the Faith answered in 106 apologetical explanations
    • Comprehensive, forty-four-page glossary and a topical index
    • Available in leather or hardcover
    • Useful for students and adults studying Scripture
    • Ideal for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of the Catholic Faith
    • Accessible by all people in its level of scriptural scholarship
    • Large 6″ x 9″ siz
    • Gilded edges and a placeholder ribbon on the leather edition
    • Both editions are sewn

The Revised Standard Version – Catholic Edition is a textually accurate translation and is highly recommended.

 

6 thoughts on “The Didache Bible

  1. Fr. S,

    Your getting as bad as me with Bibles and Study Bibles! Awe, I can see your High Church element! Icons, etc. I love btw, the Jewish Menorah! 🙂 I still have an old fully wooden Traditional Crucifix, with the Body or Corpus of Christ that is also wood (hand carved), about three feet tall on my wall above my desk! I have been approached several times to sell it, but it is part of my Irish Catholic family and so-called heritage. I think it goes back to the 1930’s or so? And of course Luther still loved the Crucifix!

    And btw too, I will surely get The Didache Bible myself, (as the Lord leads). Rock On Traditional Catholics! They will love this, with the RSV, as the CCC. Now, if Catholics will read the Bible? The Biblical illiteracy is so profound today, even among some Protestants!

    I see your NIV! I got not too long ago, the NIV Study Bible, 2011, (the black or what they call ebony, with Genuine cowhide leather, the top of the line). I have actually been using more of the NIV 2011 of late, it is very good in most places! And yes, I have the older NIV Study Bible, (’84), Large Print, with Genuine leather, burgundy (1985). One cannot have too many English Study Bibles! 😉

    • Aye, bought the Menorah in Jerusalem! Always reminds me of the blessed time I had there. I have the 2 NIV Study’s (the NNIV (I think to call it that) and the NIV ’84), an ESV Study (again, 2 – normal hardcover (orange) and the personal size TruTone®, Olive, with a Celtic Cross design), Thompson’s (NIV and a NKJV), MacArthur NKJV, HCSB, GW Names of God Bible, Life Application Study, Inductive Study Bible (ESV), and see also near it in the photo, the NET, New Interpreters, even a Drake, NLT Study, a Cambridge Study, a Harper Collins, a Reformation Study, the Archaeological Study Bible and more.

      From a Catholic perspective, the Ignatius Study (Scott Hahn – I just wish they would hurry up and finish the OT), a Little Rock Study, an African Bible, the Pastoral Care and the Oxford Catholic Study Revised Ed (Fr Don Senior is a fantastic Biblical scholar).

      Guess I could find a place on the shelf for a Didache😉 And I’m looking forward to the NIV First-Century Study Bible: Explore Scripture in Its Jewish and Early Christian Context also coming later this year. And again, for good measure: Hurry up Scott Hahn and Ignatius… please…

      • My listing of Bibles and Study Bibles would take too long! But on the NIV, I also have the TNIV, so-called: ‘Today’s New International Version’, (2001, 2005), both a Black Bonded Leather, as a ‘Renaissance Fine Leather, Premium, Hand-Crafted, Genuine Leather Black’. Btw, I also have a NRSV, with Apocrypha, Black Genuine leather, Oxford. With also The Jewish Annotated New Testament, (which is also the NRSV, and Oxford). The Editors are Amy-Jill Levine and Marc Zvi Brettler. I really like the Jewishness of the notes, but cannot follow some of the liberal ideas theologically. But its worth the read for the Jewish aspect! The NRSV is rather good, save of course the re-working of the name and title of the Son of Man, for Christ and His Messianic reality! And btw, it is here that the TNIV was ahead of its time with the changes of the special note (in three places) for the substitution of “Messiah” for the more traditional “Christ.” “While “Messiah” (from the Hebrew) and “Christ” (from the Greek) both mean “Anointed One,” what began as a title full of meaning to the early Jewish hearers of the gospel tended in the later Greek-speaking churches to become just another name for Jesus. So where the term is clearly used to designate the God-sent deliverer of Jewish expectations (primarily in the Gospels and Acts), it was judged more appropriate to use “Messiah”. However, where this sense seems less prominent (primarily in the Epistles), the transliterarion of the Greek word (“Christ”) has been retained.” (The Committee on Bible Translation, August 2003, TNIV)

        *WE Gentile Christians are sadly lacking in the Jewish aspect and understanding of the New Testament or Covenant! Here the TNIV and the New NIV’2011 are so helpful!

  2. Thanks for the shout out! I will be very interested to see: 1) The overall layout of the text, presumably with the commentary from the CCC at the bottom of the page; 2) What kind of leather is used. Hopefully it will not be the same old bonded leather that every other publisher of Catholic bibles, minus Oxford, uses.

    • Usually, I can but dream of leather! The exchange rate makes it next to impossible to afford. I have to settle for hardcover most of the time, unless I really save – which I am doing, now, for the Catholic Study Bible. I only recently bought it in hardcover (revised edition) and have been using it daily, and, enjoying it so much that I’ve determined to try to get it in leather. It’ll take a while, but I should get there. It will cost me just under a ‘grand’ in our local currency, the Rand (which is about $ 95.00). Oxford leather… I can smell it already😉

      • I too have been using Senior’s Catholic Study Bible NABRE from Oxford more and more recently. I think it is the best overall Catholic study Bible. Some may not like that it is more historical-critical than the ICSB, but I think the 500+ reading guides in the front are quite valuable. Certainly the complete ICSB will be a good challenger to it. I tend to see the ICSB as comparable to the classic NIV Study Bible, so there is certainly room to have both the CSB and ICSB for reference.

Post a Comment

