Anglican priest(ess) Wears a Hijab

Via Anglican Samizdat:

Rev. Cheryl Toth from the Anglican Diocese of Qu’Appelle wore a hijab for a day to “see what it’s like” and because she is unhappy that hostility towards women who wear a hijab, niqab or burka is increasing. And, of course, “to contribute to the conversation” – it wouldn’t be Anglican without that.

She didn’t go for the full cover-up of a burka, presumably because in a burka, no one would have any idea that she was a lady Anglican priest declaring “look at me, aren’t I progressive”, rather than an actual Muslim. That wouldn’t have been much of a publicity stunt.

Here she is:

Rest here.

2 thoughts on “Anglican priest(ess) Wears a Hijab

  1. Rev. Cheryl Toth is a wonderful colleague and I had the privilege of working in the Qu Appelle Diocese between May 2012 and June 2014, where Cheryl has exercised many leadership roles in the Diocese and in the parish in which she serves. Comments like these, Father, given the current issues surrounding the situation in the Middle East, coupled with the ensuing refugee crisis, where boatloads of refugees from places like Syria are being turned back from so called “Christian” countries, are uncalled for and in bad taste.
    Like it or not, the ordination of Woman is a reality.
    I have had my own struggle with this issue and others which have ripped the Anglican Communion apart over the last forty years and it saddens me deeply.
    I currently work as a missionary/teacher at a Christian school in Cambodia , but I have yet to be given a license to officiate from the Anglican Bishop of Singapore . I suspect this may be because I served as a priest in the Episcopal church in the Philippines, where I was ordained priest, and in the Anglican Church of Canada and I am a divorced person whom has remarried, my previous marriage having been annulled. I was ordained deacon in the TAC Diocese of Pretoria by Bishop (now Monsignor) Robert Mercer, in South Africa.
    Be that as it may, I find it a sad reflection of the World wide Anglican Communion as a whole. For example, the local Anglican priest here in Phnom Penh , who is a devout and Godly man, is a missionary from ACNA , and yet Singapore Diocese professes to still be part of the Canterbury Communion! I worship at the local Anglican Church of Christ our Peace here in Phnom Penh as a lay person, simply because this parish is the only Anglican presence here in Cambodia. The local priest has been very supportive of my situation and of my family, but, as a priest in good standing from the Diocese of Qu Appelle, it pains me to see the Communion being ripped apart by schism. Priests like me and others who are in a position in ministry similar to mine, are caught in the middle of all of this.
    I can assure you that Rev.Cheryl wouldn’t do this “just for mors” (just for kicks) as we say in South African slang ; her actions would indeed create an awareness of the anti Muslim sentiments being expressed by millions of people (many of whom are good Church going Anglicans!) at this time. Canada has always offered refuge to all people , irrespective of their Religious affiliation, who are in need of a place to have a new life,particularly for those whose own countries have become “war zones”. Surely it is high time that all Christian people (including Anglicans , whether “high” or “low”, “traditionalist” or “contemporary” or whatever they wish to label themselves) should start living out the commandment that Jesus gave us, “Love one another as I have loved you.” Then, and only then will the Kingdom of God become a reality in this sick and very sad world. Building God’s Kingdom all starts with Loving others as Christ first loved us .
    Your remarks, Father, with all due respect , are unhelpful,hurtful,uncalled for and inappropriate at this time, both in the Muslim world and this present time in the Anglican Communion’s troubled history, and are, dare I say, in very bad taste.

    (Rev) Michael Anthony Rossouw
    [Former parish priest, Parish of Saskatchewan Gateway, Diocese of Qu Appelle, in the Anglican Church of Canada]

Post a Comment

